Listen to Conor Oberst's "Governor's Ball" from Upside Down Mountain

Music Audio Conor Oberst
Share Tweet Submit Pin

Conor Oberst released the single “Governor’s Ball” from his latest solo album, Upside Down Mountain, which is set for release on May 19. The song makes good on that country-inspired promise with a moaning pedal steel and a triumphant horn section.

“For me, language is a huge part of why I make music,” Oberst said about the songwriting on Upside Down Mountain. “I’m not the greatest guitar player or piano player—I’m not the greatest singer, either—but I feel if I can come up with melodies I like that are fused with poetry I’m proud of, then that’s what I bring to the table. That’s why I’m able to do this.”

Listen to “Hundreds of Ways,” another song from the album, below.

And here’s the tracklist for the album:

Upside Down Mountain Tracklist

1. Time Forgot
2. Zigzagging Toward The Light
3. Hundreds of Ways
4. Artifact #1
5. Lonely At The Top
6. Enola Gay
7. Double Life
8. Kick
9. Night At Lake Unknown
10. You Are Your Mother’s Child
11. Governor’s Ball
12. Desert Island Questionnaire
13. Common Knowledge