Daily Dose: Flat Worms, "Shouting at the Wall"

Music Features Flat Worms
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Daily Dose: Flat Worms, "Shouting at the Wall"

Daily Dose is your daily source for the song you absolutely, positively need to hear every day. Curated by the Paste Music Team.

Los Angeles punk trio Flat Worms have announced the release of a new EP titled Into The Iris, out on Feb. 8 via Drag City imprint GOD? Records. This new release follows their 2017 self-titled debut album and last year’s single, “The Apparition” / “Melt The Arms.” Today (Jan. 14), they’ve shared their first cut from their six-track EP, “Shouting at the Wall.”

Featuring Tim Hellman (Thee Oh Sees), Justin Sullivan (Night Shop, Kevin Morby) and Will Ivy (Dream Boys), Flat Worms have consistently churned out murky garage punk with an energy level that parallels an eight-year-old with a sugar rush. Their zippy ripper of a new single is a call to keep your eyes on the prize in an era of relentless distraction and nonsense—after all, social media really is just a glorified, public avenue for people to shout at walls. With a wave of twitchy, heavily distorted guitars, lead vocalist Will Ivy exudes a stark, smirking calmness amongst the electrifying storm.

Into The Iris was recorded by Ty Segall in his home and, according to a press release, “is a persistent, determined response to an apocalyptic era, one that sees deserted strip malls and surreal headlines.”

Listen to “Shouting at the Wall” below, and check out the EP artwork and tracklist further down. You can preorder Into The Iris here.

Into The Iris Album Artwork:

unnamed (6).jpg

Into The Iris Tracklist:
01. Surreal New Year
02. Into The Iris
03. Plastic At Home
04. Shouting At The Wall
05. Scattered Palms
06. At The Citadel