Listen to Mitski's First New Song Since 2018, The Turning Track "Cop Car"

Music News Mitski
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Listen to Mitski's First New Song Since 2018, <i>The Turning</i> Track "Cop Car"

We haven’t heard a peep from Mitski lately—the indie-rock singer-songwriter extraordinaire released her critically beloved Be The Cowboy in 2018 and toured endlessly in support of the album before deleting her socials and playing her “last show indefinitely” in September 2019, maintaining radio silence since. As you can imagine, we were pleased to see her name in our inboxes this morning regarding “Cop Car,” Mitski’s contribution to the soundtrack for The Turning, Floria Sigismondi’s new adaptation of Henry James’ The Turn of the Screw. The film opens this Friday, Jan. 24, and stars Mackenzie Davis, Finn Wolfhard and Brooklyn Prince.

The Turning’s soundtrack hearkens back to the ‘90s not only in that its release feels like an event, the way film soundtrack releases hardly ever manage anymore, but also with its dark, grunge-inspired sound. Soundtrack producer Lawrence Rothman recalls of recruiting Mitski for the project:

There is a pinnacle scene where Kate’s [(Davis)] mind starts to unravel while in her car and we needed a cinematic but grunge-influenced song shadowing the scene. I reached out to Mitski to see if she wanted to get involved as Floria and I had a feeling she would deliver a song that was guitar-based but cinematic. “Cop Car” went beyond what we imagined and we were ecstatic when she sent it to us!

“Cop Car” is the final single from The Turning’s soundtrack, following “Call Me” by Empress Of, “Getting Better (otherwise)” by Wolfhard’s new band The Aubreys, “SkindeepSkyhighHeartwide” by Rothman and Pale Waves, “Mother” by Courtney Love and “Feed” by Soccer Mommy. Other contributors to the soundtrack, which was produced by Lawrence and Yves Rothman, include Kim Gordon, Warpaint, Vagabon, Sunflower Bean, Kali Uchis and Cherry Glazerr, among others.

The Turning Original Motion Picture Soundtrack is out this Friday alongside the film.

Listen to “Cop Car” and Mitski’s 2015 Daytrotter session below, and see the details of the soundtrack further down.

The Turning Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Tracklist:
01. Courtney Love – “Mother”
02. Mitski – “Cop Car”
03. Soccer Mommy – “Feed”
04. Girl In Red – “Kate’s Not Here”
05. Lawrence Rothman feat. Pale Waves – “SkindeepSkyhighHeartwide”
06. Empress Of – “Call me”
07. Vagabon – “The Wild”
08. The Aubreys feat. Finn Wolfhard – “Getting Better (otherwise)”
09. Cherry Glazer – “Womb”
10. Warpaint – “The Brakes”
11. Lawrence Rothman – “Crust(neverreallyknewyou)”
12. Lawrence Rothman and Muna – “Judas kiss”
13. Kali Uchis – “The Turn”
14. Alice Glass – “Sleep It Off”
15. Dani Miller (of Surfbort) – “Ouroboros”
16. Alison Mosshart (of The Kills) – ” I Don’t Know”
17. Living Things feat. Sunflower Bean – ( Take No Prisoners)
18. Lawrence Rothman – “Crust”
19. Kim Gordon – “Silver”

The Turning Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Album Art: