Rina Sawayama Finds Confidence in Disco on "Comme Des Garçons (Like The Boys)," Announces Debut Album

Music News Rina Sawayama
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Rina Sawayama Finds Confidence in Disco on "Comme Des Garçons (Like The Boys)," Announces Debut Album

For over three years, London-based pop artist Rina Sawayama has been self-releasing singles, as well as her 2017 debut EP RINA. She served as pop princess Charli XCX’s supporting act during the U.K. stint of the Charli Live Tour. Back in November, she shared her first label release via Dirty Hit titled “STFU!,” which was an ode to nu metal and righteous rage at microaggressions. Friday, she shared a new single “Comme Des Garçons (Like The Boys)” and information on her forthcoming debut album, SAWAYAMA. The album is set for release on April 17.

Sawayama says the album is “about family and identity. It’s about understanding yourself in the context of two opposing cultures (for me British and Japanese), what ‘belonging’ means when home is an evolving concept, figuring out where you sit comfortably within and awkwardly outside of stereotypes, and ultimately trying to be ok with just being you, warts and all.”

“Comme Des Garçons (Like The Boys)” throbs with a balmy disco vibe, seeing Sawayama utilizing the braggadocio employed by male rappers, later turning it around onto the audience in a call-to-the-dance floor moment: “You should never be ashamed to have it all / yeah, yeah, it’s gonna be okay / yeah you’ve come a long way.” The track is quintessential Sawayama, drawing on her fascination with early-2000s recordings—”Comme Des Garçons” has notably lo-fi production and eurodance references, as if it’s screaming, “Hey, remember t.A.T.u.?” The thing is, Sawayama’s unique brand of eclecticism works, carefully toting the line of taste and sheer ear-worm potential. The single cover is pulpy and fun, seeing Sawayama reclaim the strength of men to stand proud, tall and tentacled—there’s a humor to the track, just like her previous release “STFU!”

In addition, Sawayama announced she would be embarking on “The Dynasty Tour,” with stints across the U.S. and the U.K. You can listen to “Comme Des Garçons (Like The Boys),” and see her tour dates and the details of SAWAYAMA below.



SAWAYAMA Tracklist:
01. Dynasty
02. XS
03. STFU!
04. Comme des Garçons (Like The Boys)
05. Akasaka Sad
06. Paradisin’
07. Love Me 4 Me
08. Bad Friend
09. Fuck This World (Interlude)
10. Who’s Gonna Save U Now?
11. Tokyo Love Hotel
12. Chosen Family
13. Snakeskin

Rina Sawayama The Dynasty Tour Dates:

24 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ The Regent Theater
25 – San Francisco, Calif. @ Great American Music Hall
27 – Portland, Ore. @ Holocene
28 – Seattle, Wash. @ The Crocodile

01 – Minneapolis, Minn. @ Fine Line Music Cafe
02 – Chicago, Ill. @ Bottom Lounge
03 – Toronto, Ont. @ The Mod Club Theatre
06 – Washington, D.C. @ Union Stage
07 – New York City, N.Y. @ Webster Hall
08 – Cambridge, Mass. @ The Sinclair
09 – Philadelphia, Pa. @ The Foundry at the Fillmore
14 – Glasgow, U.K. @ King Tuts
15 – Manchester, U.K. @ Gorilla
16 – Birmingham, U.K. @ O2 Intitute3
21 – London, U.K. @ Electric Brixton