Rostam Announces Debut Album Half-Light, Releases Lovely New Single

Music News Rostam
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Rostam Announces Debut Album <i>Half-Light</i>, Releases Lovely New Single

Rostam has announced his debut album, Half-Light, which will release on Sept. 8 via Nonesuch. Alongside this announcement, the former Vampire Weekend member also released a new single, “Bike Dream.”

Rostam recorded and produced the 15-track album in his studio in Los Angeles. He explains the meaning behind the album title as experiencing two different worlds.

“It made me think back to a friend in Japan who told me that the word ‘double’ was becoming more and more popular than ‘half’ for people to describe their split ethnicities,” he said. “Any person growing up in America with immigrant parents experiences this dichotomy, of feeling both double and half.”

He also applies these concepts of “half” and “double” to his own sexuality:

It’s something a lot of us who identify as queer experienced growing up as well, slipping between straight and gay worlds, code-switching. I say experience in the past tense because I don’t know that that’s the experience today’s kids will have. Things are changing.

Take a look at the album artwork and tracklist for Half-Light below, and listen to “Bike Dream.” You can preorder the album on iTunes here and listen to its lead single, “Gwan,” here.

Half-Light Tracklist:
01. Sumer
02. Bike Dream
03. Half-Light (feat. Kelly Zutrau)
04. Thatch Snow
05. Wood
06. Never Going To Catch Me
07. Don’t Let It Get To You
08. I Will See You Again
09. Hold You (feat. Angel Deradoorian)
10. When
11. Rudy
12. Warning Intruders
13. EOS
14. Gwan
15. Don’t Let It Get To You (Reprise)

Half-Light Album Art:

rostam half-light album art.png