Silversun Pickups Announce New Album Widow's Weeds, Share Video for First Single

Music News Silversun Pickups
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Silversun Pickups Announce New Album <i>Widow's Weeds</i>, Share Video for First Single

Silversun Pickups have announced their first new album in four years, Widow’s Weeds. The Better Nature follow-up, out everywhere June 7 via the band’s own New Machine Recordings, will also feature production by rock-mixing legend Butch Vig (Nirvana, Smashing Pumpkins, Sonic Youth).

“This was the first album where we were open. We were exposed,” lead singer Brian Aubert explains of Widow’s Weeds. “This album feels the most naked out of all of them.”

The band have also shared the first single from their forthcoming album, an urgent, string-heavy track titled “It Doesn’t Matter Why,” complete with an unsettling music video to match (dir. Suzie Vlcek).

Despite the underlying sense of anxiety and nihilism coursing through “It Doesn’t Matter Why,” fans can expect an overall thematic outlook of rebirth and renewal from Widow’s Weeds. Silversun Pickups (a name borrowed from a dingy liquor store in the band’s birthplace of Silverlake, Calif.) began work on the album just in time for life to happen; written amidst loss, confrontations of mental health and learning how to practice self-care, Widow’s Weeds provided an outlet for the band members to process pain.

“The record does have a mourning vibe, but it’s not sad,” Aubert clarifies. “It’s change. It’s growing up and moving on and letting go of things.” Consider it a conduit for healing; an ode to prioritizing self-love.

Watch the video for “It Doesn’t Matter Why” and Silversun Pickups’ 2016 Paste Studio session below, and check out the Widow’s Weeds tracklisting and album art further down. You can preorder the album here.

Widow’s Weeds Tracklist:
01. Neon Wound
02. It Doesn’t Matter Why
03. Freakazoid
04. Don’t Know Yet
05. Straw Man
06. Bag Of Bones
07. Widow’s Weeds
08. Songbirds
09. Simpatico
10. We Are Chameleons

Widow’s Weeds Album Art:

silversunpickups newalbumart.jpg