Listen to The Cranberries' "All Over Now," First Single from Their Final Album In The End

Music News The Cranberries
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Listen to The Cranberries' "All Over Now," First Single from Their Final Album <i>In The End</i>

Today (Jan. 15) marks the first anniversary of The Cranberries frontwoman Dolores O’Riordan’s passing. In honor of the late musician, the remaining members of the celebrated Irish rock band have released “All Over Now,” the first single from their final album, aptly named In The End.

Brothers Mike and Noel Hogan, and drummer Fergal Lawler posted a message on Facebook on Jan. 11 about the forthcoming project, noting that as of December 2017, O’Riordan had demoed her vocals for the album’s 11 tracks. Following her sudden death, the band was unsure of whether to continue working on In the End.

Their statement reads:

After Dolores’ devastating and unexpected passing in January 2018, we took some time out and put all plans on hold. As time passed, we began to think about how we might best honour our close friend and bandmate. This was a very painful process. We remembered how Dolores had been so energised by the prospect of making this record and getting back out on the road to play the songs live, and realised that the most meaningful thing to do was to finish the album we had started with her. We felt that this is what she would want. We spoke with Dolores’ family and they agreed.

It was a very emotional process for us. Knowing that we would never get to play these songs live made it even more difficult. There was also an overwhelming sense of finality knowing that this was the last time that we would be in the same studio together working on a Cranberries album.

The single itself feels indelibly The Cranberries in its sound: mournful, wistful, yet uplifting in its own inexplicable way. The lyrics are oddly prescient, as O’Riordan sings, “It’s all over now.” There are even references to “a hotel in London,” which seem prophetic in hindsight, as O’Riordan died in the London Hilton on Park Lane.

As O’Riordan implores, “Do you remember?” we can’t help but respond with a resounding “Yes.” She and her music are not easily forgotten.

O’Riordan’s mother, Eileen, said in a statement:

I miss her awfully, specially [sic] today, as does the entire family. That said I can’t think of a more fitting way to commemorate the first anniversary of her passing and to celebrate her life than to announce to the world the release of her final album with the band. She was very excited about this new album and was really looking forward to its release. I have no doubt that she is happy now and would be delighted with today’s announcement.

In The End will be released on April 26. The Hogans and Lawler collaborated with Stephen Street (producer for past Cranberries albums including Everybody Else Is Doing It, So Why Can’t We? and No Need To Argue) in order to give the original demos their due diligence. The Cranberries added in their Jan. 11 Facebook post, “We dedicate this album to our dear friend and bandmate Dolores. She will always be with us in her music.”

Listen to “All Over Now” and revisit The Cranberries’ Woodstock 1994 performance below, and explore the tracklist and album art for In The End further down.

In The End Tracklist:
01. All Over Now
02. Lost
03. Wake Me When It’s Over
04. A Place I Know
05. Catch Me If You Can
06. Got It
07. Illusion
08. Crazy Heart
09. Summer Song
10. The Pressure
11. In The End

In The End Album Art: